The best room heater for hostel use is a small quartz, carbon or halogen heater whose top setting is 800W or less, such as the Orient Stark or Bajaj RHX-2, both rated 400W/800W with the ISI mark. If your hostel caps heaters at 800W, a bigger multi-setting heater only works if you keep it on the lower settings. Below are six picks checked on the makers' own pages, what each costs to run on Punjab's FY 2026-27 tariff, and how to find out whether your hostel allows one at all.
This guide is part of our winter hostel survival guide, which covers cold wave alerts, layering and hostel heater rules in more depth.
| Key number | Value | Scope / data checked |
|---|---|---|
| Heater cap at IIT Mandi | 800W, one per room | IIT Mandi hostel rules, Aug 2024 |
| 800W heater, 3 hours a night for 30 nights | 72 units = Rs 277.20 to Rs 507.60 | Punjab domestic tariff, FY 2026-27, energy charge only |
| Same heater on its 400W setting | 36 units = Rs 138.60 to Rs 253.80 | Punjab domestic tariff, FY 2026-27, energy charge only |
| Picks that top out at 800W | 3 of 6 | Manufacturer pages, checked October 2026 |
| ISI mark on room heaters | Compulsory (IS 302 Part 2/Sec 30) | BIS list, July 2025 |

Which room heater for hostel use fits an 800W cap?
Three of our six picks never draw more than 800W: the Orient Stark quartz, the Bajaj RHX-2 halogen and the Bajaj RH2C carbon, each with a 400W low setting. The Bajaj RH3H, Havells Inclino and Havells Calmy go up to 1200W, so they fit an 800W rule only on their lower settings and only if your warden agrees.
Every wattage, safety feature and certification claim below comes from the maker's own product page, checked in October 2026. We left out prices, which change weekly, and oil-filled radiators, which draw far more than an 800W cap allows.
| Model | Type | Settings | Within 800W at every setting? | Safety features the maker lists | ISI on maker's page |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Orient Stark 800W | Quartz | 400W / 800W | Yes | Tip-over protection, cool touch body, grill | Yes |
| Bajaj RHX-2 | Halogen | 400W / 800W | Yes | Tip-over switch | Yes |
| Bajaj RH2C | Carbon | 400W / 800W | Yes | Tip-over switch | Yes |
| Bajaj RH3H | Halogen | 400W / 800W / 1200W | Only on 400W or 800W | Tip-over switch, auto oscillation | Yes |
| Havells Inclino | Halogen | 400W / 800W / 1200W | Only on 400W or 800W | Tip-over switch, front grill | Not stated; check the box |
| Havells Calmy | PTC fan | 600W / 1200W | Only on 600W | Overheat protection, oscillation | Not stated; check the box |
1. Orient Stark 800W quartz: best overall for a capped room
The Orient Stark has two quartz rods and a dual heat control of 400W and 800W, so it can't break an 800W rule even on full. Orient lists tip-over protection, a cool touch body and a safety grill, and the page says it is ISI approved. Treat it as a spot heater for your desk or bed.
2. Bajaj RHX-2 halogen: simple two-rod option
Bajaj's RHX-2 product page gives two heat settings, 400W and 800W, a tip-over switch and BIS-approved ISI marking. It comes with a 6A plug. Halogen glows brightly, which a sleeping roommate may not enjoy.
3. Bajaj RH2C carbon: same limits, carbon element
The Bajaj RH2C also runs at 400W or 800W, with a tip-over switch, ISI marking and a 6A plug. On wattage and running cost it matches the RHX-2.
4. Bajaj RH3H halogen: three settings, use the lower two
The RH3H steps through 400W, 800W and 1200W, oscillates to spread heat across a shared room, and carries the ISI mark per Bajaj. Its top setting breaks an 800W rule, so buy it only if your hostel has no cap or your warden accepts that you'll stay at 800W.
5. Havells Inclino halogen: three tubes, tip-over switch
Havells lists the Inclino with 400W, 800W and 1200W settings, a tip-over switch, a front grill and a two-year warranty. The product page doesn't mention the ISI mark, so look for it on the box and the rating plate before you pay. Same rule as the RH3H: lower settings only under an 800W cap.
6. Havells Calmy PTC fan heater: for blower-friendly hostels
The Calmy uses a PTC ceramic element with settings of 600W and 1200W, oscillation and overheat protection. A fan heater warms the air of a small single room rather than one spot. Under an 800W cap only the 600W setting qualifies, and the page lists no tip-over switch or ISI mark, so check both.
One heater we'd skip for a capped hostel: the Bajaj Minor ceramic heater is ISI marked but has a single 1000W rating, so there is no lower setting to fall back on.
Is a room heater allowed in a hostel?
Only where your hostel's own rules allow it, and many don't. NIT Hamirpur needs the warden's prior permission for any appliance beyond lights and fans, NIT Kurukshetra and IIT Bhubaneswar prohibit heaters in rooms, and IIT Mandi allows one heater of up to 800W per room for a weekly charge. Read your rule book first.
- NIT Hamirpur (Himachal Pradesh): rule 4 of the hostel discipline rules in its 2026-27 hostel booklet says students need the warden's prior permission to use any electric appliance other than lights and fans.
- NIT Kurukshetra (Haryana): its hostel code of conduct prohibits immersion heaters, electric stoves, heaters and irons in residents' rooms. Anything found is confiscated and the warden decides the fine.
- IIT Bhubaneswar: rule 6.1 strictly prohibits heaters, electric stoves, irons and similar appliances, with confiscation, a fine and disciplinary action.
- IIT Mandi: the one example here that permits personal heaters, from October to February, at 800W or less, one per room, for Rs 200 per room per week.
Check with your warden. Rules change between sessions, and wardens can grant exceptions, as NIT Hamirpur's permission rule shows. Ask in writing, name the model and its wattage, and keep the reply. In a PG, also ask how winter electricity is billed; our explainer on PG electricity charges and sub-meters shows what to ask. For kettles, irons and other gadgets, see our list of appliances allowed in a hostel.
What does a low watt room heater cost to run each month?
Units equal kilowatts times hours times days. An 800W heater used 3 hours a night for 30 nights uses 72 units, which costs Rs 277.20 to Rs 507.60 under Punjab's FY 2026-27 domestic tariff. Dropping to the 400W setting halves that to 36 units, or Rs 138.60 to Rs 253.80.

We used Punjab for this example. Under the PSERC tariff schedule for FY 2026-27, effective 1 April 2026, domestic supply (DS) for loads up to 2 kW costs Rs 3.85 a unit for the first 300 units and Rs 7.05 a unit above that, plus a fixed charge of Rs 50 per kW a month. The same schedule bills paying guests who use power for residential purposes, and separately metered hostels of private institutions, under DS. Other commercial premises such as guest houses go on the non-residential (NRS) tariff, which is Rs 6.10 a unit up to 500 units for loads up to 7 kW. A fuel and power purchase adjustment surcharge is added on top in both cases.
Worked example: Orient Stark on full, one month
0.8 kW x 3 hours x 30 nights = 72 units
- If the meter stays within 300 units: 72 x Rs 3.85 = Rs 277.20
- On a shared PG meter already past 300 units: 72 x Rs 7.05 = Rs 507.60
- On an NRS connection: 72 x Rs 6.10 = Rs 439.20
A meter shared by several rooms can cross 300 units quickly in winter, and from then on every extra unit your heater adds is billed at Rs 7.05.
Comparison: each setting, 3 hours a night for 30 nights
| Setting (example model) | Watts | Units a month | DS Rs 3.85 | DS Rs 7.05 | NRS Rs 6.10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Low setting (Orient Stark, Bajaj RHX-2, RH2C) | 400 | 36 | Rs 138.60 | Rs 253.80 | Rs 219.60 |
| Low setting (Havells Calmy) | 600 | 54 | Rs 207.90 | Rs 380.70 | Rs 329.40 |
| Full on an 800W heater | 800 | 72 | Rs 277.20 | Rs 507.60 | Rs 439.20 |
| Single rating (Bajaj Minor) | 1000 | 90 | Rs 346.50 | Rs 634.50 | Rs 549.00 |
| Top setting (RH3H, Inclino, Calmy) | 1200 | 108 | Rs 415.80 | Rs 761.40 | Rs 658.80 |
Stretch that over a 120-night winter and the gap grows. An 800W heater on full uses 288 units (0.8 x 3 x 120), which is Rs 2,030.40 at Rs 7.05. Run it at 400W instead and the season costs Rs 1,015.20. If you were searching for a 500 watt room heater, none of the models we checked lists exactly 500W; the 400W setting on the first five picks is the closest low-power option, and the warmth gap is easy to cover with a low-wattage electric blanket for your hostel bed.
What should you check before buying a heater for a hostel room?
Before buying a room heater for hostel use, check five things: the ISI mark, the highest wattage setting, a tip-over switch or overheat cut-off, the plug type, and written permission. Room heaters fall under compulsory BIS certification, so a genuine one carries the ISI mark, whatever the price.
- ISI mark. The BIS list of products under compulsory certification includes room heaters under IS 302 (Part 2/Sec 30). Look for the mark on the heater body, not just the carton.
- Highest setting, not the lowest. An 800W hostel rule applies to the most the heater can draw. A heater that tops out at 800W saves an argument.
- Tip-over switch. Hostel floors fill up with bags and shoes. The three Bajaj picks, the Orient Stark and the Havells Inclino list one.
- Plug and socket. Plug the heater straight into a wall socket. Our guide to extension boards for hostel rooms explains why a cheap multi-plug is the wrong place for a heater, and our hostel fire and electrical safety guide covers overloads and clearances.
- Permission in writing. Covered above. If the answer is no, these ways to keep a hostel room warm without a heater work in any hostel.
Your next step
Before you order anything, message your warden or PG owner with two questions: are personal heaters allowed, and up to what wattage? If the cap is 800W, the safest room heater for hostel rules like that is the Orient Stark, Bajaj RHX-2 or Bajaj RH2C. With no cap, a three-setting heater gives you headroom in a cold week. Then set it to the lowest setting that keeps you comfortable, because on a shared Punjab meter every 400W you drop saves Rs 253.80 a month at 3 hours a night.




